இந்தியக் குடியரசு நாள் (Republic Day of India) இந்திய ஆட்சிமைக்கான ஆவணமாக இந்திய அரசு சட்டம் 1935 இன் மாற்றாக இந்திய அரசியலமைப்புச் சட்டம் செயலாக்கத்திற்கு வந்த நாளாகும். இந்தியாவின் முக்கிய தேசிய விடுமுறை நாட்களில் இதுவும் ஒன்று.


1930ஆம் ஆண்டு இந்திய விடுதலை இயக்கத்தினர் பூர்ண சுவராஜ் என்ற விடுதலை அறைகூவலை நினைவுகூர சனவரி 26 ஆம் நாள் விடுதலை நாளாக காந்தியடிகளால் தேர்ந்தெடுக்கப்பட்டது. அன்றைய நாளில் நகர்ப்புறங்களிலும் சிற்றூர்களிலும் உள்ளூர் காங்கிரஸ் தலைவர்கள் கூட்டம் கூட்டி, காந்தியடிகள் கீழே கண்டவாறு பரிந்துரைத்த விடுதலை நாள் உறுதிமொழியை எடுத்துக்கொண்டனர்:

“பொருளாதாரம், அரசியல், கலாச்சாரம், ஆன்மீகம் ஆகிய நான்கு விதத்திலும் நமது தாய் நாட்டிற்குக் கேடு விளைவித்துவரும் ஓர் அரசாட்சிக்கு அடங்கி நடப்பது, மனிதனுக்கும் இறைவனுக்கும் செய்யும் துரோகம்.”

28 ஆம் நாள் ஆகஸ்து மாதம் 1947 ஆண்டு ஒரு நிரந்தர அரசியலமைப்பை உருவாக்குவதற்கான வரைவுக் குழு உருவாக்கி அதன் தலைவராக பி ஆர் அம்பேத்கர் நியமிக்கப்பட்டார். அந்தக் குழு ஒரு வரைவு அரசியலமைப்பினை 1947 நவம்பர் 4 ஆம் நாள் அரசியமைப்பு சட்டவாக்கயவையில் சமர்ப்பித்தது.

2 ஆண்டுகள், 11 மாதங்கள், 166 நாட்கள் பொது திறந்த அமர்வுகளில், சந்தித்து அரசியலமைப்பின் ஏற்புக்கு முன்னதாக பல விவாதங்கள் நடைபெற்றன. கடைசியாக சனவரி 24 ஆம் நாள் 1950 ஆம் ஆண்டு 308 பாராளுமன்ற உறுப்பினர்களின் ஒப்புதலுடன் ஆங்கிலம் மற்றும் இந்தி மொழியில் இரண்டு கையால் எழுதப்பட்ட நிரந்தர அரசியலமைப்பு கையெழுத்திடப்பட்டது.

அதன் பிறகு இரண்டு நாட்கள் கழித்து, 1950ஆம் ஆண்டில், விடுதலை பெறுவதற்கு 17 ஆண்டுகளுக்கு முன்பே காந்தியடிகள் ஏற்படுத்திய விடுதலை நாளான சனவரி 26ஆம் நாளை, மக்களாட்சி மலர்ந்த தினமாகக் கொண்டாட நேரு அமைச்சரவை முடிவு செய்து அறிவித்து செயல்படுத்தியது.

1950 முதல் இது குடியரசு தினமாகக் கொண்டாடப்படுகிறது.

கொண்டாடும் முறை

தேசியத் தலைநகரில்

1.நாட்டின் தலைநகர் தில்லியில் இந்தியப் பிரதமர், மறைந்த இந்தியப்படை வீரர்களுக்காக இந்தியா கேட்டில் உள்ள அமர்சோதிக்கு வீரவணக்கம் செலுத்துவதுடன் தொடங்கும் விழாவில் குடியரசுத் தலைவர் மூவண்ணக் கொடியை ஏற்றி படைவீரர்களின் அணிவகுப்பைப் பார்வையிடுகிறார்.

2.தலைநகர் தில்லியில் குடியரசு நாள் அன்று குடியரசு தின விழா அணிவகுப்பு நடைபெறும்.

3.கடந்த ஆண்டில் நாட்டுக்கு மிகப்பெரும் சேவை புரிந்த படைவீரர்களுக்கான பதக்கங்களும் விருதுகளும் வழங்கப்படுகின்றன.

மாநிலத் தலைநகரங்களில்

1.மாநிலங்களில் மாநில ஆளுநர் கொடியேற்றுவதுடன் காவலர் அணிவகுப்பையும், அரசுத்துறை மிதவைகளையும், பண்பாட்டு நிகழ்ச்சிகளையும் பார்வையிடுகிறார்.

2.சிறந்த காவலர்களுக்கு விருதுகள் வழங்கப்படுகின்றன.


Republic Day (India)

Republic Day is a national holiday in India. It honours the date on which the Constitution of India came into effect on 26 January 1950 replacing the Government of India Act (1935) as the governing document of India and thus, turning the nation into a newly formed republic.[1]

The Constitution was adopted by the Indian Constituent Assembly on 26 November 1949 and came into effect on 26 January 1950 with a democratic government system, completing the country’s transition towards becoming an independent republic. 26 January was chosen as the date for Republic day because it was on this day in 1929 when the Declaration of Indian Independence (Purna Swaraj) was proclaimed by the Indian National Congress as opposed to the Dominion status offered by the British Regime.

History of Republic Day

India achieved independence from British Raj on 15 August 1947 following the Indian independence movement. The independence came through the Indian Independence Act 1947 (10 & 11 Geo 6 c 30), an Act of the Parliament of the United Kingdom that partitioned British India into the two new independent Dominions of the British Commonwealth (later Commonwealth of Nations).[2] India obtained its independence on 15 August 1947 as a constitutional monarchy with George VI as head of state and the Earl Mountbatten as governor-general. The country, though, did not yet have a permanent constitution; instead its laws were based on the modified colonial Government of India Act 1935. On 29 August 1947, a resolution was moved for the appointment of Drafting Committee, which was appointed to draft a permanent constitution, with Dr B R Ambedkar as chairman. While India’s Independence Day celebrates its freedom from British Rule, the Republic Day celebrates the coming into force of its constitution. A draft constitution was prepared by the committee and submitted to the Constituent Assembly on 4 November 1947.[3] The Assembly met, in sessions open to public, for 166 days, spread over a period of two years, 11 months and 18 days before adopting the Constitution. After many deliberations and some modifications, the 308 members of the Assembly signed two hand-written copies of the document (one each in Hindi and English) on 24 January 1950. Two days later which was on 26 January 1950, it came into effect throughout the whole nation. On that day, Dr. Rajendra Prasad’s began his first term of office as President of the Indian Union. The Constituent Assembly became the Parliament of India under the transitional provisions of the new Constitution.


The main Republic Day celebration is held in the national capital, New Delhi, at the Rajpath before the President of India. On this day, ceremonious parades take place at the Rajpath, which are performed as a tribute to India; its unity in diversity and rich cultural heritage.

Delhi Republic Day parade

Nine to twelve different regiments of the Indian Army in addition to the Navy, and Air Force with their bands march past in all their finery and official decorations. The President of India who is the Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Armed Forces, takes the salute. Twelve contingents of various para-military forces of India and police forces also take part in this parade.


By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *